Joint Land Use Study for Naval Weapons Station Earle

A Joint Land Use Study (JLUS) is a cooperative planning effort between local governments and a military installation, such as Naval Weapons Station (NWS) Earle. Earle falls within five municipalities: Colts Neck, Howell, Middletown, Tinton Falls and Wall. There are 8 additional municipalities considered within the Military Influence Area: Atlantic Highlands, Highlands, Eatontown, Farmingdale, Freehold Township, Keansburg, Neptune, and Ocean. Earle encompasses 11,851 in 4 facilities: Mainside; Waterfront Area; the Normandy Road/Rail Ammunition Transportation Corridor, and the Pier Complex on Sandy Hook Bay. 

The goals of the NWS Earle JLUS include: 1) Encouraging surrounding municipalities and Navy to work closely to find development options compatible with the base mission and that preserve and protect public health, safety, and welfare; 2) Improve post-storm resiliency through increased adaptation to Sea Level Rise; 3) Ensure preservation, protection, and post-storm resiliency of the Strategic Highway Network (STAHNET) and major roadways that serve both NWS Earle and the surrounding communities, such as the Garden State Parkway, and routes 9, 18, 34, 35, 36, and 195. This project looks to create land use strategies for compatible development alternatives that could help keep the base operational while also protecting the sustainability of the surrounding communities. 

Click here for the NWS Earle Website.


NWS Earle JLUS Study Fact Sheet

Monmouth County JLUS for NWS Earle Executive Summary

NWS Earle Joint Land Use Study 12-31-17

NWS Earle Joint Land Use Study Appendice 

Raritan/Sandy Hook Bay Coastal Resilience Overview

Raritan/Sandy Hook Bay Coastal Resilience Study


JLUS Policy Committee

Lillian G. Burry Freeholder Deputy Director
Teri O'Connor County Administrator
Capt. Pierre A. Fuller NWS Earle Commander
Capt. Jay M. Steingold Former NWS Earle Commander
Edward Sampson County Planning Director
John W. Tobia Director, Public Works & Engineering
Gerry Scharfenberger, PhD Director, NJ Office of Planning Advocacy
Kathleen M. Capristo Colts Neck Township Administrator
Matthew R. Howard, PSM Howell Township Land Use Director
Sanyogita Chavan, PP/AICP Middletown Township Planning Director
Michael Muscillo Tinton Falls Borough Administrator
Jeffery Bertrand Wall Township Administrator

JLUS General Advisory Committee

Edward Sampson County Planning Director  
Joseph Ettore  County Engineer 
Inkyung Englehart  County Engineer Department 
Michael Oppegaard  County Emergency Management 
Margaret Murnane Brooks  County Emergency Management 
Christopher Merkle  County Public Health Coordinator 
Alain Fortier  County Health Department 
Paul Gleitz, PP/AICP  County Park System Planner 
John Ciufo  Economic Development 
Capt. Pierre A. Fuller  NWS Earle Commander 
Capt. Jay M. Steingold Former NWS Earle Commander
Dennis Blazak  NWS Earle Community Plans & Liaison Officer 
Gerry Scharfenberger, PhD  Director, NJ Office for Planning Advocacy 
Nick Angrone  NJDEP Office of Coastal & Land Use Planning 
Mike Fedosh, Chair  MCEC 
Tim Anfuso  Colts Neck Township Planner 
Matthew R. Howard, PSM  Howell Township Land Use Director 
Jim Herrmann  Howell Township Community Development Director 
Sanyogita Chavan, PP/ AICP  Middletown Township Planning Director 
Michael Muscillo  Tinton Falls Borough Administrator 
Nora Coyne, PP/AICP  Wall Township Planner 
Adam Hubeny  Atlantic Highlands Borough Administrator 
George Jackson  Eatontown Borough Administrator 
Erik Brachman  Eatontown Zoning Officer 
Corinne DiCorcia, RMC Farmingdale Borough Clerk
Peter R. Valesi Freehold Township Administrator
Brian Geoghegan Highlands Borough Administrator
Raymond O'Hare Keansburg Borough Manager
Vito Gadaleta Neptune Township Administrator
Marianne Wilensky, P.P. Township of Ocean Community Development Director


Page Last Updated: 9/24/2020 9:04:00 AM

Copyright © 2020 Monmouth County, NJ. All Rights Reserved.Privacy Policy and Disclaimer